Off-topic chat. Kick back and relax with a whiskey and a cigar as we chew the fat about anything and everything other than games.
User

Angry Jedi

Fri Jun 27, 2014 3:10 pm

Real Name

Pete Davison

Favorite Genres

JRPGs, visual novels, adventures

Now Playing

Sword Art Online: Re:Hollow Fragment, The Fruit of Grisaia, Hyperdimension Neptunia U, Final Fantasy XIV

Crazy Stories From the Front of the Classroom

by Angry Jedi » Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:18 am

You asked for it, Calin...

I'm pretty sure I've told this story before, but for the benefit of those who haven't heard it, here it is again.

Back in the early days of my career, such as it is, I worked as a teacher in a shitty little school in the middle of nowhere. The town where it was located was in an unfortunate melting pot of clashing cultural influences -- it was a military town that also had a strong traveller presence, and the various social groups this created tended to butt heads rather violently with one another on a regular basis. As you can imagine, a secondary school plonked smack-dab in the middle of this mess was... not a particularly pleasant place to hang my hat, but as a newly qualified teacher, it was the only job I could get at the time.

I was primarily hired as a music teacher, but with the school being the way it was, everyone on staff had to "muck in" with other subjects from time to time. I was tasked with taking on a number of "Key Skills" classes -- classes which, not to put too fine a point on it, involved dealing with some of the absolute worst children in the whole school. Some of them simply struggled academically, and these kids were fine -- they kept their heads down, worked on whatever inane task from the scheme of work (which I didn't write) I'd given them and never caused any trouble. It was the ones who were in there for behavioural issues that tended to cause problems.